The Stearns Center for Teaching and Learning fulfills a part of our mission through celebrating teaching excellence. The David J. King Teaching Award honors a faculty member each year who has made significant, lasting contributions to educational excellence at George Mason University. The university Teaching Excellence Awards are Mason’s highest recognition for faculty members who demonstrate exceptional skill in and commitment to their teaching and learning practices. The Stearns Center also leads the selection and nomination processes for the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) Outstanding Faculty Awards. Nominate someone today through this online form or send a Thank You note through our Thank-a-Teacher program.

Stearns Center-Administrated Awards
David J. King Teaching Award
David J. King Teaching Award Winners

University Teaching Excellence Awards
University Teaching Excellence Award Winners

Adjunct Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards
Adjunct Faculty Teaching Excellence Award Winners

Online Teaching Excellence Awards
Online Teaching Excellence Award Winners

Thank-a-Teacher Program

Other State and University Awards
SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Awards
OSCAR Mentoring Excellence Awards
Adjunct Faculty Service Award
Distinguished Library Faculty Award
Academic Advisor of the Year Award

See Additional Faculty Recognition

Planning to apply? Check out our Documenting Your Teaching page for tips on preparing application materials.