2021 Teaching Excellence Award Winners

Teaching Excellence Award Winners: Outstanding teaching is an integral part of Mason’s mission and is deserving of significant recognition. The Teaching Excellence Awards are both institutional recognition and a monetary acknowledgment of the significant work that faculty members devote to course planning and preparation; curriculum development; and innovative teaching, advising, and undergraduate and graduate mentoring.

Teachers of Distinction: Our Teachers of Distinction are faculty members who have been finalists for the Teaching Excellence Award, and who are recognized across campus for their exceptional teaching and their commitment to teaching-related activities.

2021 David J. King Award Winner
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Daniel MenasceVolgenau School of Engineering - Computer Science The Power of Self-Learning


2021 Teaching Excellence Award Winners
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Jennifer HathawayJennifer HathawaySchool of Education - CEHD
Susan HirschSusan Hirsch - High Impact
Vernon M. and Minnie I. Lynch Chair - Carter School
Anthony HoeferAnthony Hoefer - High Impact
English - CHSSHow Humans Learn
Lauren Kuykendall - High Impact
Psychology - CHSS
Stephanie Lessard-Pilon - High Impact
Smithsonian-Mason School of Conservation - COS
Student-led Journal Club
Tehama Lopez-BunyasiTehama Lopez-Bunyasi
Conflict Analysis and Resolution - Carter School
David Luther - General Education
Biology - COS
Cindy ParkerManagement - BUSIInterview Preparation and Practice
Kathleen RamosKathleen RamosEducation - CEHD
Cynthia (Cindy) Smith - High Impact Environmental Science and Policy - COS
2021 Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award Winners
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Carrie KleinCarrie KleinHigher Education - CHSS
Glenn PrestonMathematical Sciences - COS
Top 10 Teaching Tips
2021 Adjunct Teachers of Distinction
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Virginia Cronin
School of Nursing - CHHSTeaching Tip
Basak DurgunBasak Durgun
Cultural Studies - CHSS
The "Why" of Learning
Stephen Gillespie
Economics - CHSS
Anisah Kabli
Information Sciences and Technology - VSE
Melissa KehoeSchool of Art - CVPA
Maoria Kirker
Honors College - University Libraries
Heather MurphyAthletic Training Education Program - CEHD

2021 Online Teaching Excellence Award Winner
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Ioulia RytikovaIoulia Rytikova
Information Sciences and Technology - VSE
2021 Online Teachers of Distinction
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Andrea Boykin
School of Education - CEHD
Danielle CatonaGlobal and Community Health - CHHS
Edward HuangChien Chung (Edward) Huang
Systems Engineering - VSE
Graziella McCarronGraziella McCarron
Leadership Studies
- CHSS: School of Integrative Studies
Erin MurdochErin Murdoch
Psychology - CHSS
2021 Distinguished Library Faculty Award Winner
Award Winner
Academic Unit
Featured Teaching Strategy
Wendy MannWendy Mann
Digital Scholarship - University Libraries

Write a new entry for the Guestbook

Fields marked with * are required.
Your E-mail address won't be published.
It's possible that your entry will only be visible in the guestbook after we reviewed it.
We reserve the right to edit, delete, or not publish entries.
27 entries.
Glenn - Congrats as well, and likewise on all counts!
Congratulations to all the winners and especially David Luther! Well deserved honors! You inspire us!
Congratulations Dad! I am so proud of you.
Congratulations to all of the 2021 award winners. I would like to extend special congratulations to Dr. Kathleen Ramos. Your mentorship and instruction have been pivotal in my journey. Your students' learning and lives are impacted by who you are and what you do. Thank you so much for your incredible work!
To all of our incredible Award Winners and Teachers of Distinction! Thank you so much for all that you do to design engaging learning experiences, to offer meaningful and authentic assessments, and to support our students in their personal and professional journeys. We are inspired by your commitment and dedication to our community - BRAVO to all of you! With great admiration, Kim
Congratulations to all the winners!!!!
Congrats to all in this challenging year, and especially to my IST colleague Dr Ioulia Rytikova!
Congratulations to Cindy Parker !!! You are amazing!
Congratulations to Dr. Carrie Klein on her well-deserved 2021 Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award. It is an honor to be a fellow recipient of this award with someone as distinguished and accomplished as you are. 🙂
Congratulations to Heather Murphy for your recognition as a "teacher of distinction". Your hard work and dedication are recognized by your students and peers.
Congratulations to Kathy Ramos and Jennifer Hathaway! I am honored to work with such wonderful colleagues! So well deserved!
Congrats Maoria Kirker! So proud of and inspired by you!
Congrats Dr. Hathaway, Dr. Ramos, and Heather Murphy! WELL DESERVED!
Bravo, Glenn Preston! Congratulations on your hard-earned success!
Congrats to all!! In such a tough year, this is especially commendable! Shout out to Lauren & Erin in our Psychology Department! Special shout out to Susan Hirsch, a friend & colleague & wonderful inspiration!
All of you have many reasons to be proud! Many thanks for helping create a more positive future.
Wonderful! Congratulations to all! Wishing you the best!
Congratulations to all those who received an award or distinction. We need more people like you in the world!
Congratulations to all! And especially to our own Steve Gillespie. Your contributions as an instructor make our ECON program strong!
Congratulations to all of the award winners! A special shout out to both Lauren & Erin for representing the psychology department so well, congrats!
Congratulations Dr. Ramos and Dr. Hathaway! You are such assets to your students and to CEHD- very well deserved!
Congratulations to all award winners. Cindy, my wholehearted congratulations to you- well deserved!
Dear Dr. Kathy Ramos and Dr. Jennifer Hathaway, Congratulations!!! to you all, our CEHD colleagues. We already know what amazing educators you are, and now this is out there for the world to see. You all are an inspiration to us and to your students. And Congratulations to all our Teaching Excellence Award recipients! You ARE Excellence personified!!
Congratulations to all of the award winners. Thank you for your dedicated to teaching excellence!
Dear Melissa Katie Kehoe, congratulation for being recognized for your teaching excellence as Adjunct Teachers of Distinction.
Congratulations on your well-deserved success! Excellent teachers make the world go round.
Congratulations to all of the 2021 Teaching Excellence award winners, especially my friend and colleague, Cindy Parker <3